TERROIR

The terroir at Domaine de Mourchon can be approximately divided into three types.

1st type : Sausse – Early ripening (Grenache)

Altitude : 270m
The ground here is made up from a harmonious mix of limestone, grey marl and clay. It is permeable, the grey marl is deep and holds the water. This type of ground is perfect for the development of Grenache.

2nd type : Loubié – Average ripening (Syrah and Cinsault)

Altitude : 320m
These vines are planted on a base of calcareous clay which brings a powerful and rich characteristic to the wines. This side of the vineyard has more sand mixed in with the limestone and is therefore well suited to the finesse and elegance of the Syrah grape variety.

3rd type : Mourchon – Late ripening (Grenache, Carignan and Syrah)

Altitude : 350m

The ground here is made up from a harmonious mix of limestone and grey marl which forms a rocky base with very little top soil. The first layer of limestone fragments store the heat and allow permeability. Underneath this the marl holds the water and contains the natural trace elements found deeper down which are essential for the development of the vines and bring the important phenolic content to the fruit. These vineyards are on South facing slopes and the extra heat and good drainage is perfect for the Grenache.

THE REGION

Domaine de Mourchon lies in the beautiful Dentelles de Montmirail hills at the centre of a triangle made up of Mont Ventoux in the East, Vaison-la-Romaine to the North and Avignon to the South-West. Thus it is to be found at the heart of not only some of the region’s best vine growing country, but also at the heart of the Vaucluse region – Provence at its most historical and most picturesque!
Classified as amongst France’s most beautiful villages (an official list of 140), the medieval village of Séguret is perched on a limestone outcrop, just to the north of Gigondas. From here it offers spectacular views over the entire Rhône valley, illuminated by the warm intensity of the famed Provencal light sought by the Impressionists and countless artists since.
This is great touring country, with mountain-biking and hiking in the hills, more sedate walking and cycling along the backroads and by-ways, colourful weekly markets in Nyons, Vaison-la-Romaine and Carpentras, roman remains at Vaison and Orange, the 14th century papal palace in Avignon, all set in a landscape of vines, ‘garrigue’ and lavender.

THE ‘APPELLATION’

The wines of Séguret are classified under the French Appelation d’Origine Protégée (AOP) system. This complex regulatory system aims to guarantee quality and tradition in the production of French wine, including criteria based on yields, territory, grape varieties and harvesting techniques. To be granted an AOP, a wine must also undergo analysis and tasting to ensure its quality and that it conforms to local characteristics.

Read more

The wealth of tradition in French winemaking that has developed many of the world’s most highly regarded wines is worth protecting and nurturing. The AOP system recognises that France’s best wines are not solely concerned with ‘expressing the best of the grape’ as many new world wines might be categorised. In France, there is as much concern with ‘expressing the terroir‘ – the environment that the grapes were grown in; the minerality of the land, its exposure to wind, rain and sun, the way certain grape varieties are affected by these characteristics. Thus a grape variety grown in one part of France may produce a wine completely distinct from another produced from the same variety in a different region.

The Côtes du Rhône region stretches 250 km along the sides of the river Rhône valley from just south of Lyon in the North, to Avignon in the South. As such it is one of France’s largest wine producing regions and includes a broad variety of different geologies and climates. To further distinguish the better wines of the region, the AOP system divides the Côtes du Rhône into a series of subdivisions :
First there are the ‘Crus’ – the best known wines of the region with the strongest reputations and strictest controls. These are wines produced in specific areas where the quality and style of the wine are both sufficiently high and distinct that the name of the commune and its reputation alone are considered sufficent to brand its wines. In the north of the region this includes such wines as Crozes Hermitage and Côte Rôtie, and in the south (around Mourchon) includes Gigondas, Tavel and Châteauneuf-du-Pape.

Furthermore, in the south of the region there is an area within AOP considered of higher quality and reputation than the rest of the region. This group of 95 villages is branded ‘Côtes du Rhône Villages’ and 18 of these villages are considered to be sufficiently distinct and of consistently high quality that they are permitted to display the name of their village alongside the Côtes du Rhône Villages appelation. In order to achieve this higher status, producers must adhere to much stricter criteria concerning yield and viticultural techniques. These individual Côtes du Rhône Villages wines tend to be both more concentrated and more characterful with a marked improvement in quality.

Our village of Séguret is one such village, where the wines are labelled Côtes du Rhône Villages Séguret and are steadily gaining in reputation. Domaine de Mourchon is widely recognised to be leading this development.

LE TERROIR

Terroir 1 : Sausse – précoce (Grenache)

Altitude : 270m

La vigne est installée sur un mélange harmonieux constitué de fragments calcaires, de marnes grises et d’argile. Le sol est très perméable, les marnes en profondeur contiennent l’eau. Ce type de sol convient parfaitement au développement du Grenache.

Terroir 2 : Loubié – médian (Syrah et Cinsault)

Altitude : 320m

La vigne est installée sur un mélange harmonieux constitué de fragments calcaires et de sable. Le sable apporte la finesse, l’élégance et les fragments calcaires la puissance, la richesse.

Terroir 3 : Mourchon – tardif (Grenache, Carignan et Syrah)

Altitude : 350m

La vigne est installée sur un mélange harmonieux constitué de fragments calcaires et de marnes grises, la roche en place est très proche du sol.
Les fragments calcaires apportent chaleur et perméabilité, les marnes contiennent l’eau et renferment les éléments naturels indispensables au développement de la vigne, du raisin et des arômes (le côté salé, iodé).

LA REGION

Le Domaine de Mourchon est blotti au coeur des magnifiques collines des Dentelles de Montmirail, au centre d’un triangle formé par Le Mont Ventoux à l’est, Vaison-la-Romaine au nord et Avignon au sud-est. Il est par conséquent non seulement au cœur de l’une des meilleures régions viticoles, mais aussi au cœur du Vaucluse – région de Provence on ne peut plus pittoresque et chargée d’histoire !
Classé parmi les plus beaux villages de France (la liste officielle est de 140), le village médiéval de Séguret est perché sur un piton calcaire, au nord de Gigondas. Du village, on a une vue superbe sur toute la vallée du Rhône, illuminée par la chaude intensité de la célèbre lumière provençale, que célébrèrent les impressionnistes et bien des artistes depuis.
C’est une grande région touristique où l’on s’adonne volontiers au VTT et à la randonnée dans les collines. Vous pouvez cependant choisir de flâner le long des routes secondaires et des chemins de traverse à pied ou en vélo, mais aussi baigner dans la gaîté des marchés colorés de Nyons, Vaison-la-Romaine et Carpentras, ou encore visiter les ruines romaines de Vaison et Orange, le Palais des Papes à Avignon, avec en toile de fond les vignes, la lavande et la garrigue.

L’APPELLATION

Les vins de Séguret sont classés selon le système français d’Appellation d’Origine Protégée (AOP). Ce système de régulation, assez complexe, vise à garantir qualité et tradition dans la production du vin français, ceci incluant des critères basés sur le rendement, le lieu, la variété de raisin et les techniques de vendanges. Pour recevoir l’AOP, un vin doit aussi être soumis à analyse et dégustation afin de vérifier sa qualité et sa conformité aux caractéristiques locales.

En Savoir plus

La richesse de la tradition de vinification française vaut la peine d’être protégée et encouragée. Nombre de grands vins parmi les plus côtés au monde lui doivent leurs renommée. Bien des vins du nouveau monde savent exprimer le meilleur du raisin, mais l’AOP est bien plus que cela. C’est exprimer un terroir : l’environnement dans lequel le raisin a été cultivé, la minéralité de la terre, son exposition au vent, à la pluie et au soleil et son influence sur certaines variétés de raisins. C’est pourquoi la même variété de raisin peut produire deux vins complètement différents selon la région dans laquelle elle a été cultivée.

La région des Côtes du Rhône s’étend sur 250 km le long de la vallée du Rhône, de Lyon au nord jusqu’à Avignon dans le sud. Elle est une des plus grandes régions productrices de vin en France, ce qui implique donc une grande variété de géologies et de climats. À l’intérieur même d’une région, une classification est opérée afin de mieux distinguer les meilleurs vins.

Tout d’abord les « Crus » qui sont les vins les plus connus de la région. Leur réputation est des plus solides et ils sont soumis aux contrôles les plus stricts. La qualité de ces vins et la renommée de leurs communes d’origine sont synonymes d’excellence et peuvent donc constituer une marque. C’est le cas, dans le nord de la région, de vins tels les Crozes Hermitage et les Côtes Rôtie, et au sud (autour du Mourchon), de Gigondas, Tavel, et Châteauneuf- du –Pape.

Toujours dans notre région AOP, une partie des vins est considérée de meilleure qualité et réputation. 95 villages sont donc autorisés à porter le label « Côtes du Rhône Villages ». Parmi eux, les vins de 18 villages sont à la fois assez typiques et leur qualité assez reconnue pour être autorisés à ajouter le nom de leur village à l’appellation « Côtes du Rhône Villages ». Pour obtenir cette distinction, les producteurs doivent se soumettre à des critères plus stricts concernant le rendement et l’encépagement. Ces Côtes du Rhône ont tendance à être plus concentrés et possèdent plus de caractère. La qualité de ces vins ne cesse de s’améliorer.

Notre village de Séguret est l’un de ces villages. Les vins y sont labellisés « Côtes du Rhône Villages Séguret » et gagnent de façon régulière en réputation. On reconnaît au Domaine de Mourchon un rôle essentiel dans ce développement.